Ain’t got time to bleed

14 Sep

You said yogis don’t bleed?  We practice and sweat and work ourselves to the bone (sometimes).

Today I opened up some old wounds, literally – the physical kind, not the psychological – and bled on my mat.  I can honestly say in over 13 years as a yogi, I have never done that. Not even from a nose bleed.  I think I’ve made it through some sort of right of passage.

Don’t judge me.

Tell me your best yogi-injury stories below. 


Sidenote: While searching for a photo for this post, because the one I took of my butchered elbow just didn’t work, I found this one. Who would have thought they’d have luxury bandaids? Oh. My.

4 Responses to “Ain’t got time to bleed”

  1. Thais October 24, 2011 at 2:15 am #

    ouchies!! the only injury i have suffered on my mat thus far is a few knocks down of my ego. but i think thats ok =P

    • Kim McNeil Yoga October 24, 2011 at 3:55 pm #

      I’ve hurt my ego many a time too! It’s all part of the game.

  2. Kevin J. August 18, 2012 at 3:06 pm #

    Definitely sounds like a right of passage, and more evidence that our yoga occurs everywhere, in all things, right done to our blood and bones. Thanks so much for letting us into your experiences.

    • Kim McNeil Yoga August 20, 2012 at 5:57 pm #

      Thanks for the nice feedback Kevin. I hope my comment also shows that someone’s yoga can be anything, not just using a mat.

      FYI – I don’t maintain this blog post anymore but if you are interested in hearing more of my tips and musings, consider connecting with me via my newsletter. I promise not to harass your inbox and to always value your privacy.

      http://www.kimmcneilyoga.ca/news/yogatheory-ezine

      Thanks for connecting, K

Leave a comment